Sociology Club

The Sociology Club is a group of sociology students who are excited about sociology and who regularly meet during the academic year to explore sociological opportunities for undergraduates. Meetings are held once a month, and cover a range of sociological and professional development topics, including applying to graduate school and resume writing with advising from Regan Kania. We encourage prospective students to inquire at kania@msu.edu.

This year's officers are:
President: Becca Wyne
Vice President:  Sophie Wood
Treasurer:  Diego Morales
Secretary:  Daiah Willaims
Social Media Director:  Ofelia Yeghiyan
Join us on our Twitter account:  @MSU_sociology
Join our Facebook group:  Michigan State University Undergraduate Sociological Association

Email: michiganstate.sociologyclub@gmail.com
Connect on Instagram at: https://www.instagram.com/sociology_clubmsu


Alpha Kappa Delta, Gamma of Michigan Chapter

Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) is the International Sociology Honor Society dedicated to the ideal of investigating humanity for the purpose of service. AKD seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and other social and intellectual activities that will lead to improvements in the human condition.

Dean's Student Advisory Council

The Dean's Student Advisory Council is made up of two students from each social science undergraduate major: one at the senior level and the second at the junior, sophomore, or freshman level. Students on the council are selected for their interest in issues affecting social science education and in representing the view of their constituencies. Students should not serve more than two consecutive years on the council.

The 2022-23 Dean's Student Advisory Council Representatives are:

Tamara Hyman  Hymantam@msu.edu

Stella Weinberg  weinbe88@msu.edu 

Elise Hitts  hittseli@msu.edu 


Department Committees

Two undergraduate representatives may serve on the Undergraduate Education Committee, the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee or the Advisory Committee in the Department of Sociology. Representatives of either of these committees may also participate in Departmental meetings.


The MSU Department of Sociology grants several awards to its undergraduate students. In addition, the College of Social Science provides several scholarships for undergraduate students through the generous support of alumni and friends of the College.  Recipients of these awards are nominated by sociology faculty members.  Typically, nominated students have made exceptional contributions to the department through active engagement and success in sociology courses, outstanding work with faculty members on research projects, or leadership through service on department committees or within the USA.

 Outstanding Senior for Sociology

Each year, one student who will be graduating with a sociology major and who will participate in the May graduation ceremony is chosen to represent the sociology department during the ceremony.  The student is recognized formally as the Senior of the Year in sociology.

The 2022 recipient was Emily Fitzgerald

The 2021 recipient was Daisy L. Genson.

The 2020 recipient was Jonbrielle Gill.

The 2019 recipient was Lauren Randazzo.

USA Emerging Leader Award

The Undergraduate Sociological Association is a group of sociology students who meet regularly to learn more about the discipline and connect with fellow classmates, graduate students and faculty who are passionate about sociology.  Among this select group of students, every year one student who has stood out as demonstrating leadership within the group is awarded the USA Emerging Leader Award.