Dr. Aaron McCright Appointed as New Chair for the Department of Sociology

Dr. Aaron M. McCright has been appointed to Chair of the Department of Sociology by College of Social Science Dean Rachel Croson, effective August 1, 2018.

After earning his PhD from Washington State University and completing a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Chicago, McCright joined the Lyman Briggs College and the Department of Sociology at Michigan State University in August 2004. His scholarly research agenda aims to enhance our sociological understanding of how scientific and technological developments, top-down and bottom-up political processes, and enduring social structures influence societal capacity for recognizing and dealing with environmental impacts and technological risks.

McCright was named a 2007 Kavli Frontiers Fellow in the National Academy of Sciences, he served as a 2008-2009 Lilly Teaching Fellow at MSU, and he received the 2009 Teacher-Scholar Award and the 2009 Curricular Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Award at MSU. In 2014, he received the Larry T. Reynolds Award for Outstanding Teaching of Sociology from the Michigan Sociological Association.

McCright’s sociological research and teaching contributions to the department and the sociological field at large have been significant, and we are proud to announce his tenure as Department Chair.