Undergraduate Student Association

The Undergraduate Sociological Association (USA) is a group of sociology students who gather together during the academic year to explore sociological opportunities for undergraduates. Meetings are held once a month, and cover a range of topics, including professional development needs, such as applying to graduate school and resume writing.

Alpha Kappa Delta, Gamma of Michigan Chapter

Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), Gamma of Michigan Chapter, is a non-secret, democratic, international society of scholars dedicated to the ideal of investigating humanity for the purpose of service. AKD seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and other social and intellectual activities that will lead to improvements in the human condition.

Dean's Student Advisory Council

The Dean's Student Advisory Council is made up of two students from each social science undergraduate major: one at the senior level and the second at the junior, sophomore, or freshman level. Students on the council are selected for their interest in issues affecting social science education and in representing the view of their constituencies. Students should not serve more than two consecutive years on the council. For more information, contact Elyse Packard at packard@msu.edu.

The 2015-2016 representatives were De'Ayra Hall, Gabriel Lotarski, and Julie Vernon

Department Committees

Two undergraduate representatives may serve on the Undergraduate Education Committee and the Advisory Committee in the Department of Sociology. Representatives may also contribute at Departmental meetings. For more information, contact Elyse Packard at packard@msu.edu.


The MSU Department of Sociology grants several awards to its undergraduate students. In addition, the College of Social Science administers several scholarships for undergraduate students through the generous support of alumni and friends of the College.

Ruth Hamilton Award

The Ruth Hamilton Award is made annually to a sociology major rising to junior status with an exceptional academic record. The annual stipend attached to this award is $200.00. Recipient names will be placed on the Ruth Hamilton award plaque in the department office.

The 2017 recipient was Alec Manaia.

Senior of the Year Award

Each year, one graduating senior sociology major who will participate in the May graduation ceremony is chosen to represent the sociology department by being recognized as Senior of the Year in sociology.

The 2017 recipient was Katrina Groeller.

USA Emerging Leader Award

The Undergraduate Sociology Association is a group of Sociology undergraduate students who gather together during the academic year to learn more about their fellow classmates, sociological opportunities for undergrads, and interact with TAs, graduate students, and faculty more closely.

The 2017 recipient was Elizabeth Kellogg.